Wedding flowers

Well, it’s that time folks. Another update on the Hostick Boakye wedding.

We have the date set, the venues are organised, the outfits bought – including both our shoes for the big day- the save the date cards are out, the rings are bought, the caterers booked, the bridesmaid dress bought, and the best man lined up. So, next on the list to tick off would be honeymoon – more on that another day – and flowers.

I mentioned in passing (via Progress) a few weeks ago that we’re having the wedding ‘reception’ in my parents’ garden. Now, to some this conjures up images of grand marquees, masses of space, posh temporary toilets and a big catering company. Not our wedding. My parents’ home is a modest 1930s semi in Anlaby, a West Hull village. Here’s some background on Anlaby for you:

A 9th Century Danish Viking called Anlaf set up his by (town) four miles west of the ancient settlement of Wyke (which would later become Kingston upon Hull) and called it Anlafby (Anlaf’s town). His direct descendents (the Anlabys) were one of the two dominant families in the area (the others were Normans the Legards). In the 19th Century, when Hull’s seaport started to flourish, rich merchants looked to live beyond the city of Kingston upon Hull. Between 1800 and 1900 the population of Anlaby grew by 500 to 800.   Now it’s home to a few thousand.

Back to the wedding. We’re having a relatively small wedding, despite my outrageous guest list (or maybe not), in my parents’ modest garden. We are primarily sorting this out ourselves, and I’ve set us a task to make lots of bits for the wedding. This means we have a fair bit to sort out. My parents’ ex-neighbours, the Couplands, are lending us the marquee they used for their daughter’s wedding last Autumn; we are borrowing tables, chairs, crockery and cutlery from the Danish Seamen’s Church in Hull rather than a banqueting hire company due to their extortionate costs (we were quoted £1452 by London caterer Palette for such paraphernalia for 55 people); my Dad will be making a floor for the marquee; we will be decorating  the marquee, tables and the garden; and we’ll be sorting out flowers for the tables (my parents already have seedlings coming on and I am keeping an eye out for second hand cut glass vases).

I had originally thought I could also make my own bouquet, the bridesmaid’s bouquet and the fellas’ button holes. I even considered whether I needed a bouquet, but my Dad kindly quoted a newspaper article saying that “the bouquet helped to steady my shaking hands”. And besides that, what a shame to not have a bouquet. With loads of tutorials on YouTube, making my own bouquet should be child’s play.

However, the fact that we will have so much other stuff to sort out the day before and the day of the wedding, has led me to find an easy way out – we’re using a local florist. And the first thing she asked me? What’s the colour theme? I don’t do colour themes. Instead, our wedding is multi-coloured, a mish mash of colours, cultures and styles. No particular theme, no particular colour. This led the florist to suggest the on-trend gerbera bouquet (below), which doesn’t float my boat and makes me think of Ask restaurants the country over. Needless to say I knocked her idea back, and instead told her some of my favourite flowers – dahlias, open roses, frescias, lisianthus, and so on. Very country garden. Very locally grown. Very old-fashioned (according to my Mum). Very relaxed. And very much better priced, and low on air miles to boot.

So ignore the gerbera bouquet below, and forget about the boring and overly exotic two-tone bouquet examples below (especially the last – URGH!). These most certainly aren’t my cup of tea, and I’m pretty certain they’re not Jeffrey’s either.

If I had plenty of cash I’d be tempted by one of these beauties:

Instead, I’m on the real flowers, and here’s what has inspired my flower choices. I think they’re just beautiful. I’m looking forward to what the florist comes up with come 20th August…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

123 days to go.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Wedding flowers

  1. This is a good piece of content, I was wondering if I could use this blog on my article about wedding flower problem, I will link it back to your website though. If this is a problem please let me know and I will take it down right away. Best regard.

Leave a Reply

