Wedding Invitations

Well, the date is fast approaching – we are now less than 11 weeks away from our wedding – so the next thing to do seemed to be wedding invitations.

Now, etiquette says wedding invitations should be sent out at least 6 weeks before the wedding. But what with us inviting people from Denmark, France and London to travel up to the beautiful East Yorkshire for our wedding, we thought we ought to send our invitations out sooner. But what did we want out invitations to look like?

Way back when, I discussed the dreaded wedding theme. In this I quoted how the wedding website Confetti said that wedding invitations should reflect the style choice for our day – be it a theme (e.g. football) or a colour (e.g. pink and brown). The aim of such a theme is to “create a unique style and mood for your celebrations”. 

You may remember that I suggested that the theme of our wedding could be ‘us’ – that is, something that is a reflection of us. So I guess that means creative/British/Ghanaian/Danish, which led us to colour and homemade – with our very own font (see our Save the Date cards).

And there was no way I was going to order ready made cards when I could blatantly make them myself to some style that suits us perfectly.

So, out came the  sewing paraphernalia, the scraps of Ghanaian and English/Danish style fabric, print-outs of the definitions of love and marriage and the blank A6 windowed cards I’d bought online, and I made I start.

I thought it would be great to use fabric that show our heritage, dictionary definitions that would link into Jeffrey’s love of English language and literature, and sewing that passes a lot of my time.

I cut hearts out of the pieces of paper with definitions on, and sewed them onto little squares of fabric to fit in the window of the cards:

                                                  

I then used the font that my sister Lisa designed to design the inside of the invitations, along with the travel information and gift list inserts. Put them all in the card, stuck a sticker of Jeffrey and me on the back, put them in the envelopes, et voila. Invitations done. And I am very pleased with myself as I love them, and sincerely hope the recipients do too.

And you can see them all below (minus 3 which I made later than these). I’m thinking I could make some of these to sell, so if anyone wants, or knows anyone who wants any making, to a particular theme, then get in touch!

                      

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Wedding Invitations

  1. Love the invites they look awesome!

  2. Our children will either be a) frightfully creative or b) lazy bastards.

  3. They are beautiful-I love them! Wishing you the happiest of weddings!

  4. Some beautiful fabric there guys, looking forward to seeing what comes next! 🙂

  5. Pingback: A wedding infographic | Sophie Kingo's Getting Married

  6. Pingback: Wedding crafts (post 1) | Sophie Kingo's Getting Married

  7. Pingback: Wedding crafts 2: place cards | Sophie Kingo's Getting Married

  8. Pingback: The Hostick-Boakye’s Homemade Wedding | Sophiekingo's Bits and Blogs

Leave a Reply

